A Joyous Return and A Jolly Report

Good evening, gentlepeople! I have returned from my unexplained, sudden and dreadfully long hiatus. There is so much to say and, thankfully, a decent amount of space to say it all in.

o-QUESTION-MARK-facebook

Stanislavsky and Friends will no longer be Stanislavsky and Friends. Gasp! I am hoping that you are all somewhat appalled or incredibly thrilled (like moi!). Now… Let us get to it. I want this blog to address all the walks of life: theater, music, dance, art, pop culture, food, science, literature, holistic living, etc. Many of my Stanislavskian actors are either looking through my progressive facade OR are perceiving this sudden change as abandonment. Allow me to address the possible ‘abandonment’ misconception. I am not abandoning my Stanislavskian actors… I am cluing you in on my educational and Stanislavskian narrative.

My “educational and Stanislavskian narrative” merely means an array of posts focused on the subjects mentioned above (theater, science, nutrition, etc.). Additionally (and to keep it fun/morbid), if I write posts about real people, I want these people to be dead. Oh, I sound gruesome, and I understand, but let me clarify! I want to celebrate the intelligence and wisdom of all the people before us.

beautiful-book-cute-photography-Favim.com-496352

Method acting and Stanislavskian teachers believe in the nutrition of education. In Theater and Integrity: Emptying Selves in Drama, Ethics, and Religion, Larry D. Bouchard talks about how Stanislavksy went through a self-education phase. He learned about people and culture on his own. It is safe to assume that the enrichment he received from learning on his own helped him create an effective approach to acting. Therefore, I want to lead myself down the path of self-teaching. I want to learn about everything and anything. And if you want to join my experience of self-education, please do! Everyone is more than welcome.

cropped-william-shakespeare-mark-vessey-1024x512.jpg

If possible, here are steps to take towards self-education:
  1. Jot down and choose subjects you would like to learn about
  2. Research the subjects online
  3. Watch videos on YouTube about these subjects
  4. Visit a library and look for captivating books
    • Tip: Go to a public library OR a university’s library.
  5. Write down at the end of your session what you learned and how it impacted you

Last note, friends… We are incredibly lucky and fortunate to be able to have these fruitful opportunities. Stanislavsky did not have all the resources we have, so it is important to honor the countless hours he used to sit and learn. Let us remember this when we are feeling lethargic or sluggish. I am glad to be back.

tumblr_static_53zv9dvl46ckwow0sws0ggkw0

P.S. First order of business is… Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare! Review, analysis, and research posts will be coming soon. 

Leave a Reply

